Did Refs Make Right Call Overturning Virginia Tech's Touchdown? -

Did Refs Make Right Call Overturning Virginia Tech’s Touchdown?

Michigan snuck by Virginia Tech in overtime of the Sugar Bowl, 23-20, thanks in part to an overturned TD call. And, yes, kickers played a part in it, too.

Virginia Tech, who seemed to be in control mode all game, got the ball first in overtime. Danny Coale, on third down, somehow caught a 20 yard pass from Logan Thomas, with one hand. However, the play went to the booth and the refs overturned the original call.

Although it appeared that Coale was able to get his arm underneath the ball, the catch was called incomplete, and Virginia Tech was forced to kick a field goal.  Justin Meyer, who had previously hit his first four kicks,  missed a 37-yarder.

Michigan only needing a field goal to secure victory, ran a few running plays, setting up Brendan Gibbons’ line-drive game winning 37-yard field goal.

Even as a Michigan fan, it felt kind of painful to see the way the Wolverines played during the entire game.  With a few lucky breaks like the crazy fake field goal attempt by Michigan, which ultimately led to an actual field goal before halftime, this game could have easily gone the other way. In any case, it was a very tough way to go down in a BCS game.

Coale also had this entertaining punt attempt to show.

4 Comments

  1. January 4, 2012 - 

    I watched this live, man.  Sick catch… or rather non-catch.

    The one view they showed looked like the edge of the ball may have hit the ground but every other angle made it look like a catch.

    The ruling on the field was a touchdown.  It was a definite shame they robbed this guy of that touchdown.

  2. Phildavid83
    January 4, 2012 - 

    No catch

  3. Phildavid83
    January 4, 2012 - 

    I’m glad they overturned it because that ball clearly hit the ground. The reason for all this uproar is because the commentators kept harping on the fact that they thought it was a catch, so the viewers jumped on that. The guys in the replay booth did the right thing.

    • Pfgenes
      January 5, 2012 - 

      apparently you missed the memo that it doesn’t matter whether the ball hits the ground or not as long as the player has possession throughout

Comments are closed.