Oregon Ducks score a one-point safety in the Fiesta Bowl -

Oregon Ducks score a one-point safety in the Fiesta Bowl

I honestly have never seen anything like this in my entire life.  Basically what I’ve learned from this is that if you block an extra point and bring the ball back into the end zone and get tackled that instead of it being a normal safety, it’s only one point.  Exactly what you would had gotten if you had converted the extra point.

http://youtu.be/w8o-1kK0ICg

I can only imagine how confused the Kansas State fans were in the stands, considering I was beyond confused after hearing the initial ruling.  Luckily play-by-play announcer Brad Nessler had this happen to him before and so he was able to explain it to the viewers back at home.  Nessler said that it happened around 10 years ago during a Texas-Texas A&M game, and ever since then he “kept the rule in his briefcase.”  Turns out it happened 8 years ago in 2004, here’s the video of it:

It is absolutely hysterical how confused Nessler and the rest of the crew are during this situation.  The referee never explained why it was a one-point safety, so starting at the two-minute mark, the hilarity of them trying to figure out why it happened starts.  I was curious to know how many times this had happened in history, and the Fiesta Bowl came through with the stats.

This means that Brad Nessler has been the play-by-play announcer for both occurrences. That’s going to be the answer to an impossible trivia question one day.

[YouTube]

1 Comment

  1. Michael J Skalitzky
    January 4, 2013 - 

    I do not remember this call back in 2004 but I do understand now why this is the correct call. Thanks for pointing this out as this is a most extreme rule and obviously very rare.

Comments are closed.