Did Refs Blow Call On Game's Final Play?
Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Michigan

Did Refs Blow Call On Game’s Final Play?

Prev1 of 3Next

Screen Shot 2015-10-18 at 10.03.37 PMAs you probably are well aware, Michigan State pulled off the improbable win over Michigan after Jalen Watts-Jackson returned Blake O’Neil’s botched punt back for a touchdown on the game’s final play.

However, upon reviewing the play again, it appears as though refs could have called a personal foul on a Michigan State defender for running over Michigan’s snapper.

According to NCAA rule, a defensive player cannot make contact with the snapper until one second has elapsed after the snap.  Here’s what the ‘contact against the snapper’ rule reads:

When a team is in scrimmage kick formation, a defensive player may not initiate contact with the snapper until one second has elapsed after the snap (A.R. 9-1-14-I-III).

As you can see in the video below, Scott Sypniewski, UM’s long snapper, gets run over immediately upon the snap and delivers a low ball to O’Neil. If the refs had called a ‘contact against the snapper’ penalty, it would have resulted in a 15-yard foul and an automatic first-down for the Wolverines.

Was MSU offsides as well? Flip the page to see for yourself….

Prev1 of 3Next

Copyright © 2021 Diehard Sport.com LLC