Canada was robbed of a goal in the third period of a 1-1 tie with Latvia when defenseman Kristaps Sotnieks used his glove to cover the puck before it went over the goal line. The puck didn’t cross the goal line, but it very blatantly should have been a penalty shot. This could come back to haunt the Canadians, especially with goalie Kristers Gudlevskis playing so well.
So close, yet so far.
This is how close Canada came to a 2-1 lead. pic.twitter.com/f7fuDCexwe
— Andy Isaac (@WorldofIsaac) February 19, 2014
The potential for a penalty shot is not reviewable for those wondering.
Since this may come in handy in the other game. IIHF rules on plays that can be reviewed on video: pic.twitter.com/LuXoVHlDMQ
— Chris Peters (@chrismpeters) February 19, 2014